TROY CASSAR-DALEY announces 2017 tour + Album & book out NOW!

TROY CASSAR-DALEY

ANNOUNCES 2017 TOUR

+ NEW ALBUM THINGS I CARRY AROUND OUT NOW
+ FIRST BOOK OUT NEXT WEEK

 

The album is like opening up a large suitcase and having memories and family pictures and sounds and scents and tears and laughter and heartbreak all tumble out around you; a case full of life in all its variations.  There’s a singular line towards the middle of this majestic new album that snags you like a sprig of barbed wire.“I live the tales that I tell.”  That lies at the epicentre of what makes Troy probably this country’s preeminent and most important balladeer. He writes and sings about what he knows, without frill, without varnish, with a purity that somehow makes his experiences universal.  When he sings of cooking toast on a piece of wire, or the silhouette of girls dancing by a campfire, or of wattles in bloom, or of a broken heart, you are there with him. His joy and his pain become yours.  And with 30 years’ experience in the music business, he has become – like great writers, great painters – an absolute master of economy. He simply says so much with seemingly so little.

The book is a raw, genuine story of a young Aboriginal musician who lived in two worlds as a child and at times not feeling like he belonged in either of them.  His parents breaking up early in his life had a major affect on him.  He shares his connection to his grandparents and the beautiful Aboriginal culture that he was immersed in throughout his whole childhood and love of his huge extended families, Maltese and Aboriginal in Sydney and Grafton.  He talks of having his 22 calibre rifle aimed directly at his step father. These are honest accounts, warts and all.   Meeting his childhood musical heroes like Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson and also partaking in some contraband!  Struggles with holding down relationships while pursuing his career will have you in stitches and the losses of family members are definitely some of the things Troy carries around.  His ups and downs on his journey through many a musical adventure will have you laughing and crying and is a reintroduction to the Troy that we have come to know as a clean living family man who loves his wife and kids and his 30 year music career.  A refreshingly honest story to read.

“When writing your life story in a book, you get to take the time to remember the important stuff and be as honest as you can. There is no sugar coating here.This is my story as it stands and as I remember it.

Writing this album was one of the most inspiring pieces of work I’ve had the pleasure of recording. Each song has a direct connection to the book and helps set the tones that have been the sound track of my life.  The road is not always smooth but it’s worth the drive when you get home.” – Troy Cassar-Daley

“Troy’s a true gentleman, warm and genuine, always a pleasure to be around. He sings straight from his heart and straight from the heart of his country” – Paul Kelly

“Troy’s achievements are many, and perhaps the finest may be his ability to make us listen to his heart.  Love, life, and laughter could be Troy’s motto, but his songs and their stories delve deep into reality.” – Joy McKean

 

TROY CASSAR-DALEY – THINGS I CARRY AROUND TOUR DATES

Tickets on sale now
Full tour information here

Fri 26 Aug
SOLD OUT!
Riverbend Books, Bulimba, QLD

Sun 28 Aug
Gympie Muster, Gympie, NSW

www.muster.com.au 

Thu 1 Sep
True South, Black Rock, VIC

Ph: 03 9589 4638

Fri 2 Sep
Rooty Hill RSL – Waratah Room, Rooty Hill, NSW

rootyhillrsl.com.au
Ph: 02 9625 5500

Sat 3 Sep
Trundle Bush Tucker Day, Trundle NSW

www.123tix.com.au

Wed 7 Sep
Brisbane Writers Festival, Brisbane, QLD

www.uplit.com.au

Thu 8 Sep
Slim Dusty Centre, South Kempsey, NSW

oztix.com.au
Ph: 02 6562 6533

Fri 9 Sep
SOLD OUT!
Coutts Crossing Coronation Hall, NSW

Fri 30 Sep
Deniliquin Ute Muster, Deniliquin, NSW

www.deniutemuster.com.au

Thu 13  Oct
Tandanya Gallery, Adelaide, SA

oztix.com.au

Sat 15 Oct
Stockman’s Hall Of Fame, Longreach, QLD

oztix.com.au 

Sun 6 Nov
Airlie Beach Festival, Jubilee Pocket, QLD

www.airliebeachfestivalofmusic.com.au

Thu 26 Jan
TRECC, Tamworth, NSW

www.trecc.com.au
Ph: 02 6767 5300

Thu 16 Feb
Casino RSM, Casino, NSW

www.casinorsm.com.au
Ph: 02 6662 1666

Fri 17 Feb
South West Rocks Country Club, South West Rocks, NSW

www.rockscountryclub.com.au
Ph: 02 6566 6252

Sat 18 Feb
Laurieton United Services Club, Laurieton, NSW

www.laurietonclub.com.au
Ph: 02 6559 9110

Sun 19 Feb
Yamba Golf and Country Club, Yamba, NSW

www.yambagolf.com.au
Ph: 02 6646 2104

Thu 23 Feb
Bathurst RSL, Bathurst, NSW

www.bathurstrsl.com.au
Ph: 02 6333 2999

Fri 24 Feb
Club Mudgee , Mudgee, NSW

www.clubmudgee.com.au
Ph: 02 63721922

Wed 15 Mar
Hallam Hotel, Hallam, VIC

www.moshtix.com.au
Ph: 03 8786 0200

Thu 16 Mar
Bairnsdale RSL Club, Bairnsdale, VIC

Ph: 03 5152 3928

Fri 17 Mar
Italian Australian Club, Morwell, VIC

Ph: 03 5134 3541

Sat 18 Mar
York on Lilydale, Lilydale, VIC

www.moshtix.com.au
Ph: 03 9736 4000

Sun 19 Mar
Wonthaggi Workmens Club, Wonthaggi, VIC

Ph: 03 5672 1083

Thu 11 May
Lizottes, Newcastle, NSW

www.lizottes.com.au 
Ph: 02 4956 2066

Fri 12 May
Club Forster, Forster NSW

www.clubforster.com.au
Ph: 02 6591 6591

Sat 27 May
Halfway Creek Hall, NSW

oztix.com.au

Sun 28 May
Ballina RSL Club, Ballina, NSW

www.ballinarsl.com.au
Ph: 02 6681 9500

Wed 31 May
Albany Entertainment Centre, Albany WA

www.ticketek.com.au 
Ph: AEC Box Office 08 9844 5005

Thu 1 Jun
Bunbury Entertainment Centre, Bunbury, WA

www.bunburyentertainment.com
Ph: 1300 661 272

Fri 2 Jun
Mandurah Performing Arts Centre, Mandurah, WA

manpac.com.au
Ph: 08 9550 3900

Sat 3 Jun
Mullewa Muster and Rodeo, WA

Tickets available at the gate on the day

Thu 20 Jul
Kedron Wavell Services Club, Chermside, QLD

ticketmaster.com.au
Tickets available for purchase at the club also

Friday 21 Jul
Nambour RSL, Nambour, QLD

Ph: 07 5441 2366

Sat 22 Jul
Ipswich Civic Theatre, Ipswich, QLD

www.ipswichciviccentre.com.au
Ph: 07 3810 6100

Sun 23 Jul
City Golf Club Toowoomba, South Toowoomba, QLD

Ph: 07 4636 9000